Slacker McSlackerson

Standard

My apologies all around to everyone who has checked in the past 2 weeks. I mean, how did 2 weeks even pass and I haven’t written a thing?! Colin seems to have a bit of colic. Not nearly as bad as Owen, but still enough to make me want to pull my hair out and cry right along with him. I now know I cannot eat 4 florets of broccoli or 7 Brussels sprouts. They WILL give Colin horrible gas pains, make him scream until his face is almost purple and cry non stop. Awesome. I’m pretty much down to chicken, bananas, potatoes, carrots and the occasional Diet Coke. (Okay, I obviously eat more than the items I listed, but that doesn’t make for a good story.)

I was having trouble getting poop stains out of our cloth diapers using our Eco Nuts soap, so I did a load of Colin’s laundry using my homemade detergent, followed by a wash with Eco Nuts. Mistake. I knew Colin’s skin was sensitive to the washing soda, but I didn’t think this much. He has a red rash on his stomach, back and arms from wearing a gown that ┬áhe wore last night. Poor little one. I guess for now I’ll keep using the Eco Nuts and just sun the diapers to bleach the stains. Ugh.

Owen is still blowing us away with how much he loves his brother. He has shown no jealousy and only talks about Colin with love. Owen also started peeing in the potty last Monday. It was totally his decision and he’s only had 1 accident. I guess that’s the plus side to letting your 4 1/2 year old decide on his own. :)


Breastfeeding is going great the second time around. I’m not nearly as paranoid as I was with Owen, about weight gain and the number of dirty diapers. Colin would nurse all day if he could, but in exchange for using me as a buffet, he only nurses about 3 times during the night. Yeah for sleep!

Well, I am being summoned by a certain 4 week old so I must go. Look for Colin’s 1 month post later this week!

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

One response »

Leave a Reply

