The Whitney Family

Standard

I figured that I’d do a short little blog about me and my little family, and when my sis gets around to it (haha!) let her do one about her family.

Our family consists of me (Erin aka Mommy), Sean (aka Daddy) and Owen (who calls himself Owie.) We live in the Bay Area in Northern California. Sean works in the IT/Computer world and is constantly fixing my computer for me, helping me upload pictures off the camera and pretty much doing anything technical in our house. I work as an Admin Clerk at a water company in Oakland in the Real Estate Department. This isn’t my career though. My career is being a Mom to Owen. We are currently working on a “4 Year Plan” for our family, which I’ll discuss in detail in another blog.

Sean and I are striving to raise Owen naturally, healthy, “green” and as organic as possible. We chose to have a natural child-birth, with Sean being my birth coach (and an awesome one at that. In the 22 hours it took for me to have Owen, he NEVER left my side. Never.) We are actively practicing Attachment Parenting, which pretty much means we carry Owen in our Ergo carrier whenever we go out (I don’t know the last time he rode in a grocery cart), we don’t even have a stroller! We are sleeping in a family bed and I swear Owen’s crib is just in his room for decoration and to hold stuffed animals. I’m one of “those” moms who is still breastfeeding my 2 year old. And to answer questions: Yes, he has teeth. Yes, he does eat solid foods. No, he doesn’t bite me. No, I’m not planning on weaning anytime soon. It’s our plan for Owen to wean himself (Child-Led Weaning.) And yes…I do get tired of nursing him. It’s not all sunshine and cracker jacks to nurse him for the umpteenth time during the night, and I do get stressed about it occassionally. But, in the long run, I figure this is such a short time period in his life, and I know I’ll miss it when it’s over.

We chose to bank Owen’s cord blood when he was born, just as an extra precaution. Cancer (specifically leukemia) runs in our family, and cord blood has been known to cure it. Basically, the cord blood is the purest of Owen’s T-Cells. The blood doesn’t know if it’s supposed to be going to his hand, or foot or heart. This is just pure, clean, healthy blood.

We have also chosen to no longer vaccinate Owen. We feel that the body is such a powerful thing. If you break a bone, your body KNOWS how to heal itself. It can grow that bone back together! If you get a cold, your body KNOWS how to cure itself. We felt that injecting Owen with a ton of chemicals and unnaturally found substances (formaldehyde, aborted fetal tissue, chicken embryo and others) went against everything we were trying to do to raise him naturally. He has been fully vaccinated up to his 9 month appointment, and no more after that. Maybe it’s because he’s breastfed or because he’s got his Daddy’s immune system, but (knock on wood), Owen has never had an ear infection, strep throat or even a high fever (well, nothing higher than 101.) He’s been even more healthy since we stopped the vaccinations. Very few runny noses, hardly any sneezing or coughing, either.

We also are picky about his diapers…okay, correction: I am picky about his diapers! We only use Seventh Generation diapers because they are chlorine free. On our last family vacation, we only used G-Diapers. (www.gdiapers.com)

Honestly, I know I’m a snob about all these things. And frankly, I’m a proud snob. I am definitely my mother’s child. She had all three of us girls naturally, drug-free. We were cloth diapered, breastfed until 2 (or longer in some cases!). My mom taught me how to make all of Owen’s baby food, as she had made ours. My mom even grew her own organic garden and made her own organic pesticides!

So, that’s a little bit about The Whitney Family. I’ll have Taylor post later so you can learn a little bit about The Dickson Family. Enjoy!

My two boys at the Aquarium.

My two boys at the Aquarium.

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

Leave a Reply

