Big Boy Bed!

Standard

Owen has been sleeping in bed with Sean and I since…oh…his birth. We never used the co-sleeper or the crib. We just nestled him right in between the two of us. We had originally planned on letting him sleep in our bed for 3 months. Only. Then, 3 months came and Sean said to extend it to 6 months. But that is it. Well, we’re now quickly approaching 26 months, and Owen has shown no interest in sleeping anywhere but right next to Mommy and Daddy.

Lately though, I haven’t been getting much sleep, and I know Owen hasn’t either. When I turn over, it was Owen up. When he turns over, I wake him up. When Daddy turns over, we’re both up. (Although, Daddy never seems to wake up when either of us move. Not fair!) Sean and I had discussed moving his crib into our room, and turning it into the toddler bed feature while making the mattress flush with our bed. So, two nights ago, we took on the challenge of taking apart and reassembling the bed.

What. A. Hassle.

Those cribs are ranked right up there with Ikea furniture. So many screws and nuts and bolts, and you have to do everything with an Allen Wrench. Even my tiny fingers had trouble bolting it down!

So, after an hour of taking apart, moving down the hall, putting back together the crib, we finally have it in place now. It’s right next to my side of the bed, so it’s still easily accessible for me when he wakes up to nurse. Two nights ago, we put the plan into motion. Owen actually fell asleep in my lap downstairs, so Sean took him up to his new bed around 9:15 or so. He slept WONDERFULLY and didn’t wake up to nurse until 2:30! I put him back in his bed and he woke up again at 4:45. So, he only woke up TWO TIMES. For some moms, they have great sleepers. As in, my sister’s son, Bennett. That child has been a great sleeper since Day 1. Owen, on the other hand, is just like me. I’m still a terrible sleeper. Never sleep through the night, even before having a kid.

Slowly but surely we’re making the transition, though. Last night, Owen wanted NOTHING to do with his bed, but we’re working on making it FUN. We let him pick out his sheets, which night-night (blanket) he wanted, etc.

Tonight is a new night…we’ll see how this goes!

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

Leave a Reply

