Crafty McCrafterson

Standard

It’s not a secret that I have always wanted to be crafty. I dreamt of the days where I’d be able to show up to work, and tell everyone that I MADE my skirt. Or, to be able to tell one of Owen’s friends that I MADE the birthday gift. I recently stumbled upon a GREAT book, The Creative Family by Amanda Blake Soule. (She blogs at www.soulemama.typepad.com) I’ve been reading her blog religiously, and trying to channel all her creativity as best I can. In her book, she had a pattern for an EASY colored pencil/marker/ink pen holder. I decided to give it a shot and try making it. One of Owen’s little friend from daycare is celebrating her 4th birthday this weekend, so what better gift to give Sofia than a hot pink colored pencil holder?!

Sean, Owen and I visited our local Joanne Fabric SUPER store. It’s overwhelming and massive and WONDERFUL. Sean and I were in heaven. Owen loved the button aisle.

I picked out a hot pink felt for Sofia’s pencil holder. Sean then decided that he wanted a holder for himself, for all of his knitting needles, yarn, patterns, etc. So, he chose a boring black. ha ha!

Here is the finished product of Sofia’s sweet pencil holder. Sean and I really want to “get back to the basics” of toys for Owen and we’re trying to wean out battery operated toys/toys that require absolutely no imagination. This does not mean I’m going crazy and throwing out all of his toys, but we want to have the majority of Owen’s toys battery-free.

Okay, here is the pencil holder:

The outside of the pencil case.

The outside of the pencil case.

 

Inside of the pencil case.

Inside of the pencil case.

 And here are my two boys, with pretend hair made from scrap felt. Also, check out Owen’s fancy necklace that he found in Mommy’s jewelry dish.

Hot pink hair is stylish, if you didn't know...

Hot pink hair is stylish, if you didn't know...

 And one last picture! This past weekend, we had a Father’s Day cookout at my mom and dodd’s house. I decided to make Cherry Limeade to drink (as in, SONIC Cherry Limeade.) Being from the South, you have never experienced heaven until you’ve had a Sonic Cherry Limeade. While we didn’t have the Sonic ice (you Southerners know what I’m talking about!), it was still so yummy! I found this recipe on Kelly’s blog (www.kellyskornerblog.com) and have really been enjoying her entries. She has a link to her recipe page, and that’s where I found the limeade! So excited! This will definitely be a staple item at all family get togethers!

Recipe:

1 Can frozen limeade, 1 2-liter Sprite, 1 jar cherries with juice, 1 lime. Wash and slice lime. Put all ingredients into a punch bowl, including the juice from the cherries. Stir well and add ice.  ENJOY!

Sonic Cherry Limeade

Sonic Cherry Limeade

 Hope everyone has a great Tuesday!

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

2 responses »

  1. you crafty girl! you’ve inspired me…now i just have to conjure up some crafty skill.

    and i wish i could ship you some sonic ice… i can’t imagine a cherry limeade without it!

Leave a Reply

