Upcoming Trip To Oklahoma!

Standard

So, in approximately 27 days (not that I’m counting or anything), my  mom, Owen and I will be on an airplane. We are flying from San Francisco to Dallas/ Fort Worth to Oklahoma City. We will then rent a car, and drive approximately 2 more hours to Ada, OK where my Grams lives. Swell. My mom and I have made this trip a few times before, always doing fine. Always getting lost trying to get out of the OKC airport. Always getting lost driving from Ada to Ardmore. Always. Which was fine. But…with the addition of a 2 year old, I feel panicky. I feel nervous and a little on edge. Sean always travels with me and Owen, so I leave the majority of the planning/car seat installing/ entertaining to him. Now, it’s on my shoulders. And that frightens me. What if I can’t get the car seat in as tight as he does? What if we get lost driving to Ardmore, and Owen has a melt down? What if the Sonic is closed on Labor Day? Get my point?

So, I’ve already started making my lists. (Yes, you read that right. ListS…as in plural.) A list for clothing. A list for Owen’s carry-on bag. A list for things to do. A list for people I want to see. A list for what I need to purchase at the Super Wal-Mart once I get to Ada. It keeps me sane. It calms me down.

I’m also planning on visiting the family of one of my dearest, oldest friends who passed away this past April. Dana and I pretty much grew up together at First Baptist Church. We went to Falls Creek together. We had numerous sleep overs. We once ate an entire jar of black olives together…and drank the juice. We were both sick. I’ve been really nervous about visiting her family. I don’t want to say anything wrong. I want them to know how much Dana means to me (yes, present tense.) I think of her daily. Sometimes more than once a day. I have dreams about her and in those dreams, she is telling me not to worry. That she is fine. It’s me that isn’t fine. I miss her. A lot. Even though we hadn’t seen each other in years, I still felt a connection with her. Like we could pick up where we left off. She was one of THE coolest people I had ever met. She was trendy. I wore too-short jeans to fit my skinny waist and an oddly colored t-shirt. Dana wore colorful leggings and an oversized t-shirt in a side knot. I wanted to be like her. I wanted to be Asian like her. I pretty much wanted to change my name.

As the trip gets closer, I feel more anxious. It’s been years since I’ve seen a lot of my friends. Some of them I haven’t seen since we left Ardmore in 1994. Any advice??

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

One response »

  1. OMG! reading this just made me cry!! im excited to see you too!! and dont worry about anything. everything will be fine!!

Leave a Reply

