Lookin Fine Since ’79!

Standard

Yes…today…I am THIRTY. It feels ancient. I don’t feel 30. I feel more like 24. I act more like 24…or 14 depending on the day you ask me. I don’t feel I’m old enough to have a kid, let alone an almost 2-1/2 year old kid. Somedays I feel like I’m still in high school, while other days I feel super old. Thirty doesn’t really FEEL like me…at least not yet it doesn’t.

This morning, my bestie took me to Starbucks, as is our tradition on birthdays. We both ordered our usual, grande mocha frappacino. Bestie tells the girl at the register its my birthday. I smile, as if that really proves I’m a year older. (I’m socially awkward at times.) The guy fixing our drinks upgrades my frap to a massively large amount of coffee…for free. I heart him already. Then, he hands us 2 cups with a dark liquid and ice in it. We think they’re samples. He says it’s a Birthday Shot. He fixes one for himself. He says it’s espresso. “It tastes bad but just drink it.” 

So we do.

And it is bad.

Within 5 minutes, I immediately feel jittery. And happy. And talkative. Incredibly talkative. I swear I’m even typing this post about 257 words per minute. I heart the guy at Starbucks even more at this point.

I arrive at work to find a huge Happy Birthday Banner in my in-box.

birthday

I also find these beautiful yellow flowers on my desk (which I posed next to my incredibly large amount of coffee.)

flowers

I’m beginning to think that 30 isn’t that bad after all….

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

Leave a Reply

