S Bux

Standard

I heart Starbucks, almost in an unnatural, unholy way. Some people go shopping when they feel depressed, or drink wine or kick things. I just want some coffee.

Over the years, my drink choices have changed, mostly depending on my mood and comfort level with ordering new things. Now I tell you, I’m not one of those coffee people who order foam and steam and half caf something or other. I just order what’s on the menu, no changes for me.

My drink of choice right now is a vanilla latte. I mean, it’s sweet enough so that I’m not confusing it with dirty water, but it’s not too sweet that I won’t get a headache.

The sweet barista at the Lafayette Starbucks knows me. And I’m pretty sure he has a crush on me. I mean, he has given me free coffee AND upgrades for no charge. “Hi Alex, I’ll have a tall vanilla latte.” And when I get my drink, it’s a venti. I mean, that’s service.

On my birthday last year, (the big 3-0), my Bestie took me to SBux on the way to work, since we carpool. Alex was there (is it sad I’m on a first name basis with him??) and Bestie told him it was my birthday. Because this was clearly a celebratory drink, I ordered a Grande Mocha Frappacino. WITH whipped cream. Duh.

We walk on over to get our drinks and I see Alex has upgraded mine (for free) to a Venti. Being 30 is great. He then puts 3 little SBux shot glass sized paper cups on the counter in front of us. He takes one, and gives one to me and one to Bestie. We pick up said cups. He says Happy Birthday! And warns us it will taste bad going down, but drink it in one shot. (Clearly, he does not know me. I do not do shots…or even drink for that matter.) I don’t know what’s in this cup, but I drink it. It tastes like paint thinner and battery acid all in one. He says its espresso. Fantastic. Like I need any more caffeine in my diet. Car ride to work, I feel myself talking 300 miles per hour, but I can’t shut up. Long story short, biggest crash headache of my life at work 2 hours later. But clearly, this boy likes me.

I’ve never been a good Flirter, if you will. That has always been left up to my sisters, who are both gorgeous and curvy and dress like super models even when going to the store. I, on the other hand, feel plain jane, am NOT curvy in the least bit and don’t even own a stitch of clothing that even slightly resembles a super model…even just a plain model. Boys have always been attracted to these beautiful ladies, and I can’t blame them. They. Are. Lovely.  So, what struck me as crazy is that I was even getting free coffee. HA!

Okay, not even sure where I was going with this post. I just saw this beautiful Starbucks cup sitting on my desk and had to write and say how lovely it was, how happy I am that it’s on my desk and how much better my Friday is going to be because of its existence.

ADDITION: My friend, Emily, sent me this YouTube link. Apparently, Kristin Chenoweth knows my Starbucks boyfriend..  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXS0nEOx_20

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

One response »

Leave a Reply

