These are a few of my favorite things!

Standard

When the dog bites and when the bee stings are NOT on my list.

1. My ERGO carrier. http://www.ergobabycarrier.com/

I absolutely love love LOVE this thing. I don’t think I could have made it without one this far. I had a Baby Bjorn when Owen was first born, but quickly realized this was not the carrier for us. It felt funny when I wore it. Owen sat weird in it. I did some research and discovered the Ergo. It seemed like a perfect choice, because it’s ergonomically correct for baby AND wearer, which is a huge plus. I have scoliosis and a couple of fused discs in my neck, so I wanted something that wouldn’t put more pressure on me than was necessary. Ergo worked like a charm…and still does. Owen will be 3 next month and weighs a whopping 24 pounds (light weight little boy.) I mainly use the back carrier when I’m carrying Owen. Grocery stores, running errands, walks around the neighborhood. LOVE IT.

2. Bare Escentuals Make Up   http://bareescentuals.com/

I love this make up line. I have sensitive skin. I can’t use bleach in my laundry, and can’t use Irish Spring soap or Colgate toothpaste. MAC make up is pretty…but it just isn’t quite right for me. I mean, have you ever seen me wear purple glitter eye shadow? That’s a venture that I leave to my sisters. I’m not quite that adventurous.  With that being said, this make up is great for my skin (sensitive, oily and a little weird.) I bought their Starter Kit and have never regretted that day. I use their Fairly Light color (since Ghost was not an option…) The starter kit comes with their all over color, warmth blush, mineral veil, a couple of eye colors and brushes. I think I spent about $50 on it at Macy’s. I love this make up because it’s actually good for your skin. And it’s more natural than say, Wet N Wild for 99 cents at Target.

3. Bumble & Bumble Hair Products http://www.bumbleandbumble.com/

I have fine hair. I have oily, fine hair. Although my hair isn’t thin, I have a lot of it. It just doesn’t appear that way, since it’s so flat to my head half the time. I am also somewhat of a hair product snob. I love a good hair product. I laugh at Pantene. For a while I was using Pureology shampoo and conditioner, but needed a change. My hairstylist, Christina at 1688 Salon in Walnut Creek actually recommended B&B to me. I use their Thickening Shampoo and Conditioner. It seems to give my hair the extra body that I wasn’t born with. For styling, I use B&B Styling Creme. I have also found that if I use my defuser on my hair dryer (even when I’m not scrunching my hair) it gives me a lot more body. I will admit, I don’t really like B&B Hair Sprays. I like hair spray that leaves my hair a little crunchy, so I use Big Head Spray. In Mega Hold. Of course.

4. Starbucks http://www.starbucks.com/

Need I say more??

5. Post-It Notes  http://www.3m.com/us/office/postit/

I love these little treasures. I’m at my work desk right now, and I count that I have at least 5 different colors/varieties of these little gems on my desk. I refuse to use the square yellow kind. Too boring for me. My newest favorites are the green shaped flowers or purple ones that I have in my handy dispenser. Nerdy, I know.

6. Writing Poetry

I absolutely love writing. Poetry, songs, rhymes, stories, blogs. I mean, I love it. I have a journal/notebook that I started for 2010 and it’s chock full of poetry and song ideas. No, I don’t write songs either (as in the music portion of it.) I’ve tried to learn to play piano and guitar, and I think I’m just somehow not that coordinated. The idea of my hands doing different things at different times and at different speeds is too much for my brain to process. So, I’m just gonna find a partner to write songs with, like Simon and Garfunkel. I write words, they write music. Done and done.

7. The Smell of Cold Hotel Rooms

You know the smell. You go for a dip in the pool at the hotel you’re staying at. You come back to your room. You left the A/C on high and now it’s freezing in your room and you are still dripping wet in your swim suit.

Breathe Deeply.

This is the smell I love.

What about you? What are some of YOUR favorite things?

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

2 responses »

  1. I LOVE the smell of cold hotel rooms too! And for the first time in my life, I feel normal (meaning I am not the only one!)I bought some awesome post its at the 99 cents store- I will have to see if they have more. You would love them. I like post-its, but hate to use them, so they just sit on my desk, while I use up my ever growing stack of waste paper that I refuse to throw away.

    OOh, there are many things I like, and most are smell related- I will never forget how Nova smelled at birth, but I have yet to smell that again. Curious if baby #2 would smell the same way? I love gasoline, twizzlers, rain, FIERCE cologne, and firewood…

Leave a Reply

