Day 1 Update

Standard

I figured, if I’m gonna go crazy with the no microwave, no dishwasher, no deodorant thing, I might as well go all out. So, I’ve decided to also try going shampoo/conditioner free, as well as use The Oil Cleansing Method to clean my face. I was on my last day of shampoo for the bottles I had currently been using (Jessi Curl and Bumble & Bumble.) I tend to use a shampoo for a couple days, then switch to another kind. I was at the end of both of these, so I figured this was a good time. I had been intrigued with both of these things, since reading about them on SortaCrunchy’s website. (http://sortacrunchy.typepad.com/) I honestly thought the shampoo thing was a little weird, but I’d never come across a post that I didn’t like. After reading directions on how to do this, I came home and made my own “shampoo” and “conditioner.”

For the “shampoo,” I used 1 TB Baking Soda and 1 cup water. I put it in an 8 oz squirt bottle I got at CVS and shook until the baking soda was dissolved. For the “conditioner,” I used 1 TB Apple Cider Vinegar and 1 cup water. I put this in a second 8 oz squirt bottle  and shook until it was mixed well. After wetting my hair in the shower, I just squirted some of the baking soda mixture onto my scalp and massaged it in. It was a little tingly, but nothing like I expected. I also didn’t make a baking soda paste, as some of the sites I visited had suggested doing. Mine essentially looks like cloudy water, but still very see-through. For the ACV rinse, I just squirted it on the ends of my hair. I tend to have oily hair, so I didn’t want to make it super duper greasy after only one wash. I’ve read that it can take up to two weeks for your scalp/hair/oil glands to adjust, so I’m somewhat prepared for the adjustment period. I just hope my coworkers will accept me wearing cute scarves to work during my off days. I’ve also read that other people have had little to no adjustment period. I can only hope I’m that person.

For the Oil Cleanse, I got my information here. http://www.theoilcleansingmethod.com/ I tend to also have oily skin with breakouts. Yes, I’m 30 and STILL have breakouts. I thought this was supposed to end…oh, at like 21 or something. Not the case here. For the past 3 years, I’ve used Dermologica Calming Wash. I’ve noticed an improvement in my skin, but nothing where I’d like it to be. I should also mention (since this is a documentary of sorts) that I started seeing a dermatologist when I was 16 and continued until I was about 22 and prescribed Accutane. I did Retin-A, had dry ice applied to my face, multiple creams and oral medications. NONE of them worked. Accutane really dried out my skin, which seemed to do the job while I was on it, but as soon as I was done, my acne came back. Not as bad as it had been, but definitely not gone.

With that out of the way, for my Oil Cleanse, since I have oily skin, I mixed (in a 3 oz squirt bottle), 1 oz Castor Oil and 2 oz Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil. I will mention that I could not find the Sunflower Seed Oil, and I already had the Organic EVOO at home. I am really weird about smells, and I hate how olive oil smells. Like, it makes me gag. Surprisingly enough, this did not stink too bad when I used it. After washing and rinsing my hair, I put about a nickel size amount in my hands, and rubbed until warm. I massaged it into my skin and on my eyes, since this will remove eye make up. After about a minute, I put my warm wet washcloth on my face and just let the steam do its work.

I will say that I was SHOCKED with the results. Shocked, I tell ya. When I got out of the shower, my face was no red. Not one bit. Like, at all. In fact, I was so pleased with the results, I’ve posted pictures. And let me say, that even on the weekends, I wear make up. I have splotchy skin. It’s not pretty. But check me out!

I mean, I know I look spooky, but this is me with no make-up. And hardly any red!

And one last update, since I’m writing a novel. As of  8pm when I got in the shower, my pits were still fresh, after only using baking soda all day. I’m going to have a love affair with baking soda now. 🙂

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

One response »

  1. Wow, I am impressed with your courage to try so many new things, especially all at once! Your skin looks great in the photo. I am looking forward to hearing how everything goes!

Leave a Reply

