So long microwave…and dishwasher and deodorant

Standard

Most of my crazy (read INCREDIBLE) ideas come from blogs I read. I’m somewhat addicted to other people’s lives. Is that weird? Okay, yes it is weird, but I don’t feel I’m too stalkerish. Okay, I AM stalkerish. There, I said it. Let’s move on.

So, after reading a blog and studies on the dangers of microwaves (http://www.mercola.com/article/microwave/hazards2.htm) I decided to unplug ours for a month. I didn’t want to get too crazy and just throw it out, so I thought unplugging it was a good start. Plus, I have a huge fear of plugging in electrical appliances, so I won’t be tempted to do it myself. But that’s a whole other post….

Day 1 – So far, so good. I mean, it’s only breakfast time, but I haven’t felt the need to heat up anything. Except my cold Starbucks coffee that is sitting here in front of me. Oh well, I’ll add ice to it and make it a cold drink. Problem solved.

And on to the dishwasher. I’ve decided to not use that for a month also. Studies say that it can save you up to $45 a month, just by hand washing your dishes. We’re all about saving money, too. Plus, it’s a water waster. The dishwasher in our rental home is OLD SCHOOL. No water settings, no heat settings, just a dial you turn to ON. That’s it. So who knows how much water is just being wasted in there. If we just wash all our dishes after that meal, then we won’t get behind and have a sink full to do.

Day 1 of Dishwasher study – Going okay. I was dang near ready to throw in the towel last night though, when I found one of Owen’s sippy cups under the bed with soy milk in it. At least, I assume it was soy milk. It. Was. Foul.

And since I’m sharing, I’ll just say that I swear I sweat way more now after I’ve had a baby than before I did. And sadly enough, my Truth or Pear deodorant just isn’t cutting it anymore. I tried Tom’s, in a last ditch effort, and I smelled by 10:00am. Gross.  So, after stalking more people on their blogs, I have found a solution. Baking soda. Yep, the good ol stuff you use to bake with…AND, absorb smells in your fridge. So, this morning, I just dusted some soda on the pits, and left the house. I have noticed that I’m sweating (I mean, I’m sweaty for a girl…get over it) but I do not stink. And I keep smelling myself to make sure I don’t stink. I don’t.

I’ll try to update and let you all (all 3 of you) know how the microwave/dishwasher/deodorant challenge is going.

UPDATE:  10:54am. I’m still fresh. I swear I don’t stink. Baking Soda is like a gift or something….If it was December, I’d call it a Christmas Miracle.

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

One response »

Leave a Reply

