Being crafty takes time….

Standard

My $20 Armoire I got off Craiglist. Before the change...

I’m working on my $20 armoire that I got off craigslist. (Oh Craig, How I love thee….) I sanded. I painted. I stained. I wiped off stain. I stained more. And after 5 days of hard work, I realize that I hate how it’s turned out. As in, it’s horrible. I’m starting over tomorrow. This is the beauty of real wood and cheap finds. It’s okay to start over. It’s okay to try something and realize that you absolutely cannot stand the site of it. It’s okay…maybe I should take this bit of advice into my everyday life. When I want to try new things (namely a new item on the menu. I usually know exactly what I like, so why try something new?) When I want to jump in feet first into a new adventure, or chapter in my life, or even try a new brand of toilet paper. (Y’all….I mean, I really don’t like change all that much….) My point is, is that sometimes we all need permission to start over. To admit a screw up. To give ourselves a hug and move on. Furniture or disaster in real life…it’s all the same…

After sanding away on this dang thing for what felt like an eternity...

It looked so much better in my mind than it does in real life...

BUT...I'm super happy with how the chalkboard side turned out.

My own personal super heroes!

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

3 responses »

  1. i love this blog!! im going through some things right now and it made me feel a lot better! THANKS! i love you!

    • I’m so glad you ladies liked this blog. 🙂 And starting over DOES seem to be a theme right now, doesn’t it? Love you two so much!

Leave a Reply

