Freezer Paper Stencils

Standard

I’m in love with freezer paper. Seriously…N. LUV. While re-reading The Creative Family, I stumbled upon her instructions on how to make freezer paper stencils. And, by positioning a stencil JUST SO on an old t-shirt, you can make it “new” by covering a stain. PERFECT. I grabbed one of Owen’s white (off-white? cream?) t-shirts last night, cut out a skateboard image, and went to town. I will post pics of it when I get home and take a picture of him. haha

I, on the other hand, had this great little silhouette of an old-school couple that I was dying to use on something. Nothing seemed right though. It seemed too busy for a painting on some wood, so it sat in a drawer I had. And sat. And sat. And then last night, it became a stencil on my plain jane light blue skirt from Old Navy. I’ve had this skirt for about a year, but I went online to Old Navy and found you can still get them for about $15. What a bargain! So comfy. It’s t-shirt material, so that’s also an added bonus.

Here is the finished product. Next time I make a shirt/skirt/tote/etc, I’ll take pics and write a tutorial. It’s seriously not hard at all. I was intimidated, but glad I took the plunge. So easy!

Freezer Paper Stencil Skirt

I asked Hubs what he thought about Owen’s shirt and my skirt. He said he loved the skateboard for Owen (duh. I’m awesome.) As for my skirt, his words were, “Um…it’s very 1950’s.” Thanks, Hon. I love your honesty.

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

One response »

Leave a Reply

