Kitchen Essential

Standard

I love to bake. LOVE. I’m starting to love to cook, too. Baking, for me, is so relaxing. I love the predictability of baking cookies. All the ingredients are measured out, leveled, mixed, etc. With cooking, it’s a little more unsettling for me. A dash of salt? How much is a dash? Why can’t you just say 1/8 t of salt? Anyways, now that I actually have the time and energy to spend on cooking and baking, here are a few things in my kitchen that I can’t live without.

Classic Batter Bowl by Pampered Chef

I got this for Christmas this year from my mom and I LOVE it. It holds 8 cups (2 Qts) and is microwave safe, oven safe up to 350 and perfect. The lid fits tightly on the bowl and keeps cookie dough fresh.

Calphalon Dutch Oven

I use this dutch oven all the time. I can go from the stove top to the oven and its a beautiful thing. The one I have does not have the glass lid though, just stainless steel. I can use this to boil pasta, cook a roast or saute veggies. Love this.

Calphalon Everyday Pan

I actually do use my Everyday pan every single day. Scrambling eggs, browning onions…anything you can imagine. This is also oven safe and my mom makes a mean frittata in hers.

OXO Angled Measuring Cups

I’ve had these cups for years and they are great. Instead of getting eye level with the cups to see how much liquid is in the cup, you look down at it. So genius.

J.A. Henckels

I don’t have these exact knives, but I have this brand. My knives have a steel handle instead of the black ones. I use these for just about everything, except opening the mail. haha My mom got me a handheld sharpener that is fantastic. I seriously didn’t need to sharpen these knives as soon as I thought I would. A good knife set can make all the difference in cooking.

KitchenAid Mixer, circa 1977

http://cgi.ebay.com/KitchenAid-Div-Hobart-Mfg-Troy-OH-K45-Stand-Mixer-/290524531345?pt=Small_Kitchen_Appliances_US&hash=item43a49c8a91#ht_1085wt_1139

This is THE mixer I have…same color and all. If you are going to get a KitchenAid, get one of the older ones when it was still made by Hobart. They have metal gears on the inside, and won’t need hardly any maintenance. My mixer’s name is Ramona and she is awesome. I did have to get a new bowl (I like the kind with the handle) and a new paddle attachment, since the older one had gotten loose. Other than that, I haven’t had any problems with her. The best thing is when you are making cookies, you can seriously just pour the flour in and let the mixer do the work.

Anything I’m missing? Let me know. I love to find a new kitchen gadget that I haven’t heard about. 🙂

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

One response »

  1. I have the same batter bowl and it IS the best. I also couldn’t live without our Dutch oven, good knives, etc. I also have the glass prep bowls from Pampered Chef and they are great. Prefect size for ingredients and they have covers. I may steal your blog idea but I will give you credit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

