Fancy Picture Frames

Standard

We were desperately in need or some wall-candy above our bed. We have plenty of ceiling decorations and a fabulously colorful duvet cover, but….blank walls. Blank walls make me sad.

When we move, the FIRST thing I want to do is hang up wall decorations, even before we’ve unpacked and put the couch in its place.

Owen and I have been doing lots of coloring and painting lately, and the fridge and his display wall were getting full.

Enter Dollar Store.

We dropped by this afternoon to check it out. We wandered every aisle. Owen even picked up 104 Toy Story stickers for $1. Score!

I found these unfinished frames on the frame aisle, and the acrylic paint on their craft aisle.

Just remember that these are items from a dollar store…you pay for what you get. Each little color of paint painted exactly one frame. The paint is thin and you need a gazillion coats. Hubby said it would have worked better if I had primed the frames, but I was just wanting to get decorations on the wall, people. They look fine. 🙂

Overall, I’m  pretty pleased with how it turned out. They are colorful and match our duvet cover and bring some color to our walls.

Owen says  he does not like them, however, because I told him he can’t touch them. Hubby just smiled and said, Nice.

Oh well, I like them. I think they’ll stay.

Entire project: $7 plus tax

Total time: 2 hours (the paint dries FAST)

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

Leave a Reply

