A Break from 20 Bags…Recipes!

Standard

Owen and I made some super yummy no-bake cookies this morning, and I wanted to share. I also am posting the recipe for the 30 minute dinner I made last night, for Baked Ziti. YUM.

No-Bake Peanut Butter & Honey Cookies

3 1/2 c quick oats

1 1/2 c chocolate chips

1 1/2 c sugar

1/3 c milk (I only had heavy cream…I suggest making this substitution. wow)

1/4 c honey

1/4 c butter

2/3 c peanut butter

1 1/2 t vanilla

1. Combine oats and chocolate chips. Set aside.

2. In a medium saucepan, combine sugar, milk, honey & butter. Boil over medium-high heat for 1 minute. Remove from heat and add peanut butter and vanilla. Stir until peanut butter melts. Pour this mixture over the oats and chocolate chips. Mix well. Drop by teaspoonfuls onto parchment paper. Let cool 1 hour.

It’s super easy and really yummy, too.

Skillet Baked Ziti (from my cookbook, The Best 30-Minute Recipe, from Cook’s Illustrated)

1 T olive oil

6 garlic cloves, minced

1/4 t red pepper flakes

Salt and pepper

1 (28-ounce) can crushed tomatoes

3 cups water

12 ounces Ziti (you can use penne if you can’t find ziti)

1/2 c heavy cream

1/2 c grated Parmesan cheese

1/4 c minced fresh basil

1 c shredded mozzarella cheese

1. Heat oven to 475, with oven rack in middle position.

2. Combine oil, garlic, pepper flakes and 1/2 t salt in 12-inch ovensafe nonstick skillet (I used my dutch oven) and saute’ over medium-high heat until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add crushed tomatoes, water, ziti and 1/2 t salt. Cover and cook, stirring often and adjusting heat as needed to maintain a vigorous simmer, until ziti is almost tender, 15 to 18 minutes.

3. Stir in cream, Parmesan and basil. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Sprinkle mozzarella evenly over ziti. Transfer skillet to oven and bake until cheese has melted and browned, about 10 minutes. Serve.

This was actually super easy, and it makes GREAT leftovers for lunch the next day. Enjoy!

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

Leave a Reply

