Recycling Crayons

Standard

I’m from Oklahoma, and I don’t think I have ever pronounced “crayon” correctly, according to my hubby. I say it like crown. Trying to say cray-on just seems foreign to me. Owen also says crown, so hubby loses.

We had a gazillion (okay, maybe 30) broken crayon pieces, free cheapy crayons Owen has gotten at restaurants and goodie bags, and some really old crayons that had seen better days. I suggested to Owen that we break up all the crayons into little pieces and melt them into bigger, rainbow crayons. Fun stuff.

We started by soaking the crayons in a bowl of water to loosen the paper. Don’t even try to peel it when it’s dry. Dang near impossible.

After the paper was soft, we (I) peeled the wrappers off, broke the crayons into smaller pieces, and let Owen decide which cupcake tin to put them in. I used an old, disposable cupcake pan I had, just so I wouldn’t have to worry about clean up later.

While you are letting your child meticulously place each crayon piece in the cupcake tin, pre-heat your oven to 350. When it is preheated, turn off your oven and place the crayons inside. They will start to melt. Ours took about 10 minutes or so to look like soup. Immediately put the cupcake tin in your freezer for 15 minutes, until hardened. Then, turn them out onto a towel or your hand. (They are fragile and will shatter if you turn it out onto your counter.)

Owen has not yet colored with them, mainly because he is playing dinosaur catcher and doesn’t have time to be bothered with fancy crayons. Also because I want to let them get to room temp before he colors (throws) with them.

And if anyone is curious, this is me today. I don’t feel nearly as big as I did a few nights ago…maybe because I’m feeling more and more sick all the time and can’t hardly stand to eat (besides pickled okra and ginger ale….)

Don't mind the spilled ginger ale on my shirt. I'm messy.

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

3 responses »

  1. We did this when I was a teenager but we poured them into a shallow pan and then cut them into sticks.

    I also say “crowns” and my husband also makes fun of me for it.

    Your tiny belly is so cute (and smaller than mine and I’m not pregnant!)!

Leave a Reply

