First Ultrasound

Standard

Just a disclaimer: Once I figure out how to hook up our scanner and use it, I will be posting pictures of my ultrasound. Until then, just imagine and white blob with a little spot in the middle. 🙂

Today, I had my first ultrasound. What they don’t tell you (until you’re pregnant) is that the first ultrasound is a vaginal ultrasound. Creeps me the heck out. But that’s a whole other story.

Since Sean JUST started his new job with Dell like, 3 days ago, he wasn’t able to take time off. Owen stayed with his friend, Luke, so I was able to go alone to the appointment. I didn’t want to have to explain to Owen what was going on anyways. Awkward.

Apparently, I have a very active baby. (Must take after Owen…) The baby is measuring 8 weeks and 2 days, and from my last period, I’m 8 weeks and 6 days. Close enough for me. They kept my due date the same (January 13….and yes, it’s a Friday.) I also got a huge tote bag filled with formula samples and coupons. A little early for that, don’t you think?

Anyways, the good news is, is that was my last appointment with my ob/gyn. I’ll be seeing my midwife from here on out in preparation for a home birth. Doctor’s offices give me the heebie jeebies. I swear, I sweat like a pig in there, too. hahaha

And as soon as Sean gets home and can figure out this scanner, I will post pictures! 🙂

PS For my sisters who love to make fun of me. Yes, I’ve already gained 6 pounds. Help me to help myself.

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

One response »

  1. How fun to be able to see your little one on the screen! Looking forward to seeing pics. Here in Cambridge, I have not seen a doctor at all and have only seen a midwife… oh, and they don’t do ANY internal exams or internal ultrasounds. Bliss! So excited to hear about your journey. 🙂

Leave a Reply

