Homemade Dishwasher Detergent

Standard

Sorry for my absence everyone.  Owen got sick while we were visiting my mom and dad, and ran a fever for 2 days. He then threw up in the van on the drive home…twice. Throwing up sends me into major panic mode. I’m just glad he was okay. I’m also glad that Sean figured out how to take his carseat apart so I could wash it. Then, I got what Owen had. No fever, just the throwing up. Awesome. We are finally starting to feel back to normal.

Yesterday, I made dishwasher detergent. I figured that since I was making my own laundry detergent, I might as well make my own dishwasher detergent. It’s very easy people. Much less labor intensive than the laundry soap. I already had the ingredients on hand, because they are the same as the laundry soap. Here’s what you need:

1 cup Washing soda

1 cup Borax

vinegar

Yep, that’s it. Mix the washing soda and borax together in a container. (I am using one of Sean’s empty protein powder containers.) Use 2 tablespoons per load of dishes. I just pour it into the little container where I usually put the tablets. Pour vinegar in your rinse agent container. This will help your dishes to not get cloudy.

I ran my first load last night, and it worked great. No cloudy dishes. No left on food. Nothing. 🙂 I think I found a winner!

On a side note: Has anyone ever made their own cloth diapers? I’m debating giving it a shot, but wanted to know if anyone had a good pattern they used, or any advice. I’ll be back this Friday with my regular pregnancy update posts.

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

Leave a Reply

