Cloth Wipes

Standard

My friend, Megan over at SortaCrunchy has inspired me in more ways than one. From her, I have been encouraged to use the Oil Cleanse Method, practice Natural Family Planning, and now I’ve decided that I’ll start using cloth wipes instead of toilet paper. (See her post here.) I figure that I alone am going through a roll of toilet paper a week (the single rolls people, not those huge triple rolls that won’t fit on the holder) and this is just a way to save money. And cut back on waste. And also help out the environment. (For the record, I do buy Trader Joe’s toilet paper which is made without the use of chlorine, but it all adds up.)

So, I sacrificed a set of our winter flannel sheets (sorry Honey) and made a few wipes to try out. Here is what I did.

I cut 8x8 inch squares of our old flannel sheets, pinning 2 of the squares (wrong side) together.

 

I used a zig-zag stitch on the sewing machine to help with fraying edges. This was not a precise project at all. Pandora helped me get through it.

Close up of the zig-zag stitch.

In the end, I got 10 cloth wipes made.

 

Finished project. Not pretty, but they'll work.

 

I obviously have not used them yet. That would be gross if I took pictures of it. And for the record (mainly for my sis, Kat) I’m only using them for #1. I think for #2, I’ll stick with flushable toilet paper. And yes Kat, and I just said #2. Like, I’m 7 or something. 🙂

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

2 responses »

  1. You are such a super mom!! I have 2 questions though…Do you think it will be hard to keep up with the laundry of those wipes and cloth diapers? That would be my main concern, I’m horrible at keeping up with my laundry. Also, I have heard of women using washable pads for “that time of the month” do you do that or is that too much?

  2. I’m hoping that when baby comes along, I can just do a small load of cloth wipes and cloth diapers every 3 days or so (providing we have enough cloth diapers.) With the cloth wipes I made for me to use, I’m going to just throw them in with our regular wash (towels, sheets, etc.) And, I’m totally on board with the washable pads! That’s actually my next project. I hated using the disposable pads after Owen was born (and they didn’t do much to help with the healing of…those areas that required stitches) so I’m going to make my own. I’ll most likely make two versions: one for right after baby is born and another set for when my cycle comes back to normal. 🙂 Let me know if you’d be willing to try them if I make some, since my body won’t be having a period for quite some time. 🙂 xoxo

Leave a Reply

