Cloth Wipes Update, Homemade Menstrual Pads and a Giveaway!

Standard

We’ve been enjoying visiting with family from out of town, and this is the first chance I’ve had to update the blog! So, first things first.

Cloth Wipes: I’ve been using them since I finished sewing them. I’m in love. They are so soft! And surprisingly absorbent. I haven’t had any problems with it getting wet all the way through. I’ve even been using them for my middle of the night bathroom breaks, and it’s so easy! Once you get used to it, it’s a breeze. I’ll admit. The first time I was going to use them, I was a little nervous. Not sure why. Just maybe because it was a change from my normal habits? I love a good routine and this was a bit outside my comfort zone. But, I just jumped in and did it. I went to Toys R Us and bought a 3-pack of wet bags for dirty diapers and I leave one of the bags next to the toilet. When I’m done with the cloth wipe, I just throw it in the bag and zip it back up. And you know what, it doesn’t even smell like anything. A big plus. Overall, I’m VERY pleased with the cloth wipes and will continue to use them. I cut up the rest of our sheet set and made about 30 or so wipes. I’m doing a load of laundry now and I just threw them in with the towels and wash cloths. Easy peasy.

Menstrual Pads: I figure, I’m on a roll. Might as well give reusable pads a shot too, right? No one told me that after you have a baby, you bleed. I mean, you’d think I would have picked that up in a book or something along the way. But no, I did not. Imagine my shock and surprise when the nurse in labor and delivery took a chux pad, folded it up and stuffed it into these makeshift mesh underwear. I was like, um…what the heck is that for? Naive, yes. This time around, I refuse to have crinkly plastic touching an ever so sensitive area after I push this baby out. I found a couple of patterns online on ehow.com, but I just took bits and pieces from that site and constructed my own. I can’t be for sure how they work since I won’t  need them for another 6 months, but I made 2. They are pretty and they make me smile. I plan on making more this weekend.

Here is my tutorial on what I did:

I started by making a template on thin cardboard from a disposable pad I had on hand.

 

These are the supplies I used. Flannel squares, waterproof pads, snaps, needles and pinking shears. (I ended up not using the shears since they only cut paper. What?!)

 

I traced the middle absorbent portion of the pad onto flannel to add to the middle of my own.

 

The finished flannel piece.

 

I got 5 flannel pieces onto the waterproof pad and traced and cut these out.

 

Pin the flannel piece to the waterproof pad. Sew around the edges using a zig zag stitch.

 

Sew around the edges of the absorbent middle. Also sew a few lines in the middle so the flow knows where to go.

 

Stop and have a break. I suggest Boston Cream Pie yogurt.

 

Trace the cardboard template onto your pretty flannel piece, doubled over. After you cut it out, you will have 2 identical pieces (top and bottom of your pad.)

 

Pin and sew the absorbent middle onto your flannel pieces. Flannel pieces should be right sides together. Leave one edge open so you can turn the whole thing right side out.

 

I sewed big triangle shapes onto the pad. Not sure why. The directions said to. So I did. I'm a follower.

 

Hand sew the snaps on. Make sure they are facing the right way. Otherwise, you may or may not cry.

 

The finished product.

 

So compact when you fold it up and snap it together!

I think with time…and practice, these will get easier to do. It was pretty much trial and error making these two, and they aren’t as “finished” as I’d like them to be. But, I think they’ll do the job, and it sure as heck isn’t crinkly plastic!

And now, a Giveaway. I think this is my first ever. Actually, I’m sure this is my first ever. I have a bundle of 7 Cloth Wipes to give away. In the comments section, leave a comment why you’d like to try the cloth wipes and also if you’d ever consider using the reusable menstrual pads. Or if you are a guy, these would make a lovely (yet perhaps inappropriate?) gift. 🙂 I’ll pick the winner this Friday, July 8 by noon. Good luck!

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

3 responses »

  1. Pick me! Pick me! I would love to try the wipes and the pads! (If I had a period of course.) I’m going to make some ASAP!

  2. I have always wondered how these were made! I have a couple of reusable pads that I have been using, and while I alternate them with disposables I have no hesitations using them. I would love to try cloth wipes because I am trying to become more “green”and eco friendly-in addition to being able to reuse them over and over again, you are also helping out the environment.

  3. I really like how you made your pads! You’ve inspired me with a few ideas for my own. I noticed you used a stack of “fat quarters”, am I right to assume they are flannel? I’ve been going to blog after blog, trying to figure out if ladies are making their pads with quilting flannel or shirt flannel. Do you really think it would make a difference? I think shirt flannel might be softer, but I could be wrong. I do have some cute quilting flannel left over from making some baby blankets. And I was thinking of using an old crib mattress pad for a “waterproof” barrier. And I wanted to let you know, I don’t think your pinking shears are “real” pinking shears, they look like a pair of scrap booking scissors that I have. All the “real” pinking shears I’ve seen and used have had thick metal blades and metal handles.

Leave a Reply

