Baked Gnocchi with Tomato & Basil

Standard

I love gnocchi. LOVE. I ran across a 30-minute meal in my Cook’s Country magazine (from 3 years ago…) and decided to give it a go tonight. Out of the 3 of us, 2 of us LOVED it. Owen ate his entire plate of it, I had 2 helpings, plus Sean’s leftovers. Sean loved the sauce, but not the texture of the gnocchi. He said it had a good flavor, but he just couldn’t get over the chewy-ness of it. So, here is the recipe. It calls for the vacuum-packed gnocchi found in the pasta aisle of the grocery store, but if you can’t find it, you can use refrigerated or frozen. I found my gnocchi at our Wal-Mart, but I know Trader Joe’s also carries it.

 

Baked Gnocchi with Tomato & Basil

3 TB extra virgin olive oil

1 pound vacuum-packed gnocchi

1 onion, chopped fine

6 garlic cloves, minced

1/8 t red pepper flakes

1 (28-ounce) can crushed tomatoes

1 cup water

1/2 cup chopped fresh basil

2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese

 

1. Adjust over rack to upper middle position and heat to 475 (I did 450 and it turned out great.) Heat 2 TB oil in large ovensafe nonstick skillet over medium-high heat until shimmering. Cook gnocchi, stirring occasionally, until lightly browned, about 4 minutes. Transfer to plate.

2. Add remaining oil and onion to empty skillet and cook until onion is softened, about 3 minutes. Stir in garlic and pepper flakes until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Stir in tomatoes and water and cook until slightly thickened, about 5 minutes.

3. Add basil and browned gnocchi to pan. Reduce heat to low and simmer, stirring occasionally, until gnocchi is tender, 5 to 7 minutes. Sprinkle with mozzarella  and bake until cheese is well browned, 8 minutes. Serve.

This was DELISH. I’ll definitely be making it again, along with some regular pasta on the side for my hubby. The sauce alone was DELICIOUS, so even if you don’t like gnocchi, I think you could make the sauce and serve it with some pasta, or substitute the gnocchi for pasta even. YUM. 2 thumbs up.

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

Leave a Reply

