Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe

Standard

Last night for dinner, I made this chicken tortilla soup. It. Was. Fantastic. It was my first time making this recipe, so I figured it could go either way. I’ve had some bad tortilla soups before, but this one was so yum. And it makes great leftovers, too, as I just had a bowl for an afternoon snack. 🙂

I got this recipe out of my cookbook/money-saving book Family Feasts for $75 a Week. First, I love that this book reads like a book. And secondly, I love that it also reads like a cookbook. Overall, 2 thumbs up.

Chicken Tortilla Soup

6 cups chicken broth

One 14.5 oz can crushed tomatoes, undrained

2 TB vegetable oil

Six 6-inch corn tortillas, cut into strips 1/2 inch wide and 2 to 3 inches long

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite-size pieces

1 onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, finely chopped

2 jalapenos, seeded and minced (we omitted this)

1/2 t ground cumin

1/2 t kosher salt

1/2 cup shredded monterey jack cheese

chopped fresh cilantro

1 lime, cut into 6 wedges

 

1. Combine broth and tomatoes in a soup pot, and bring to a boil; reduce heat to medium-low and let simmer 10 minutes.

2. Meanwhile, heat oil in a medium skillet over medium-high heat until hot. Add tortilla strips in a couple of batches and cook, stirring once or twice, until light brown and crisp, 5 to 7 minutes. Remove fried strips to paper towels to drain.

3. In same skillet, cook chicken 3 to 5 minutes without stirring, until nicely browned on first side. Add onion, garlic, jalapenos, cumin and salt; cook 5 minutes or so, stirring occasionally, until chicken is cooked through and vegetables are softened.

4. Add contents of skillet to simmering broth; cook 10 minutes.

5. Ladle soup into bowls. Garnish each with tortilla strips, cheese and cilantro. Serve each bowl with a wedge of lime.

 

Enjoy!!

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

Leave a Reply

