Thai Wraps Recipe

Standard

Last night for dinner, I made Thai Lettuce Wraps. I don’t want to toot my own horn, but tootie toot toot. They were DELICIOUS. Granted, I cannot take the credit. I got this recipe from my Family Feasts cookbook. Yum. I was seriously the last person at the dinner table still eating after everyone had finished. Like, I was there another good 20 minutes after everyone left. Don’t believe me? You can ask my mom. I was skyping with her on my laptop while finishing dinner and she asked where everyone was. I was still eating, Owen was playing and Sean was working on his computer. That’s how we do it around here, especially when I’m pregnant. I saved all the leftovers so I can eat them for lunch today. It was that good.

Thai Wraps

1 pound romaine lettuce, Swiss chard or fresh spinach, separated into individual leaves (We used Romaine.)

2 carrots, peeled and shredded

1 onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, chopped

1 rib celery, sliced

1/2 cup minced fresh veggies of your choice (tomato, cucumber, celery)

1 TB olive oil (if using ground turkey)

2 pounds lean ground beef, or 1 pound ground beef and 1 pound ground turkey (I found that 2 pounds was a LOT of meat, so next time I’ll just use 1 1/2 pounds)

1/4 cup fish sauce or soy sauce (we used soy)

1 to 2 cups leftover cooked rice

Salt and pepper to taste

1. Wash lettuce, spinning or shaking off as much water as possible. Set aside in a colander or bowl lined with a paper towel. Cut any heavy stems from spinach.

2. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat and add beef. Cook until browned, breaking up into small pieces with a wooden spoon. If you’re using ground turkey, add oil to skillet before adding turkey to prevent sticking.

3. Once meat is cooked through, remove from pan and place onto a paper towel lined plate. (I find this gets rid of the excess oil. I then added another TB olive oil to my pan to cook the veggies in.) Add oil to pan. When hot, add carrots, onion, garlic, celery and other minced veggies. Cook over medium heat until soft, 5 to 7 minutes, stirring a few times.

4. Return meat to pan and mix with veggies. Add fish/soy sauce and rice. Add salt and pepper (I found we didn’t need to add any.) Cook over medium heat for a few more minutes, stirring until ingredients are well mixed and heated through. Serve by wrapping leaves of lettuce around several tablespoons of meat mixture.

Or, if you are like Owen and don’t eat lettuce, eat it in a bowl plain. Enjoy!!

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

Leave a Reply

