Sauteed Mushroom Recipe

Standard

I found this recipe in one of my Cook’s Country magazines, and decided to make it for dinner tonight. Hubby grilled some chicken and I did the shrooms. They were delish. And easy. And delish.

The recipe says it serves 6, but I’d beg to differ. More like: Serves hubby, preggo wife with a few leftover for hubby’s lunch the next day.

4 tablespoons unsalted butter

1 shallot, sliced thin

20 ounces cremini mushrooms, trimmed and halved

12 ounces shiitake mushrooms (I used baby bella)

salt and pepper

2 teaspoons minced fresh thyme

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 cup white wine

1. Melt 2 TB butter in 12-inch skillet over medium heat. Add shallot and cook until softened, 1 to 2 minutes. Add mushrooms and 3/4 teaspoon salt and increase heat to medium-high. Cover and cook, stirring occasionally, until mushrooms have released their moisture, 8 to 10 minutes.

2. Remove lid, add remaining 2 TB butter and cook, stirring occasionally, until mushrooms are deep golden brown and tender, 8 to 10 minutes. Stir in thyme and garlic and cook until fragrant, 30 seconds. Add wine and cook, scraping up any browned bits, until liquid is nearly evaporated, about 1 minute. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Serve.

YUM!

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

One response »

  1. This dish sounds so yummy. I will definitely be trying it sometime. Jac and I both love mushrooms. I’m making chicken with a thyme marsala cream sauce for dinner tonight. It has mushrooms and peas in it…and a cream sauce…so, needless to say, I’m really excited about it. I will post the recipe on my blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

