Pumpkin Cake Roll Recipe

Standard

People. This recipe is OFF THE HOOK delicious. I cannot stop eating it. And I’m justifying that it’s “healthy” because it’s pumpkin. Ha! I was really nervous making this because you have to roll it up, like a jellyroll. I kept thinking it was going to crack and split in the middle. Surprisingly enough, it turned out PERFECTLY. I got this recipe from my new cookbook. I also got the first cookbook in the series, too. You can find it here. So far, I’ve made about 5 or 6 recipes from these books and each one has been a huge hit in our family. That’s a pretty big deal, considering I’m really picky especially while pregnant, and Owen is a typical picky 4 year old. Hubby will eat anything as long as it’s not moving.

These recipes are specifically designed to be frozen so you can make dinners in advance, as well as desserts, brunch, side dishes, rolls, etc. I cut this cake roll into thirds, and put two of the thirds in the freezer, and left the rest out for us to enjoy. Yum!

Pumpkin Cake Roll

For the cake roll, you will need:

3 eggs, separated

1 cup sugar, divided

2/3 cup canned pumpkin

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 t. baking soda

1/2 t. ground cinnamon

1/8 t. salt

 

For the filling, you will need:

8 oz. cream cheese, softened

2 T. unsalted butter, softened

1 cup powdered sugar

3/4 t. vanilla extract

 

Serving Day:

powdered sugar, for dusting

 

Recipe makes 10 servings

Cake: Preheat oven to 375. Line a 15 x 10 baking pan with waxed paper. (I recommend parchment paper since the wax paper didn’t turn out like I thought it should.) Grease the paper with butter and set pan aside. In a large bowl, beat egg yolks on high until thick and lemon-colored. Gradually add 1/2 cup sugar and pumpkin; beating on high speed until sugar is almost dissolved.

In a small mixing bowl, beat egg whites until soft peaks form. Gradually add remaining 1/2 cup sugar and beat until stiff peaks form. Fold into pumpkin mixture. Combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt; gently fold into pumpkin mixture. Spread batter into prepared pan. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until the cake springs back when lightly touched. Cool for 5 minutes. Turn cake onto a clean kitchen towel dusted with powdered sugar. Gently peel off waxed paper (parchment paper). Roll up cake in the towel jellyroll-style, starting with a long side. Cool completely on a wire rack.

Filling: In a mixing bowl, combine cream cheese, butter, powdered sugar and vanilla. Beat until smooth. Unroll cake and remove from towel. Spread filling evenly to within 1/2 inch of cake edges. Roll up again. Wrap in layer of plastic wrap and then foil. Freeze. Cake may be frozen for up to 3 months.

Serving Day: Remove from freezer 15 minutes before slicing. Dust with powdered sugar, if desired.  Enjoy!!

Pumpkin Cake Roll

 

So far, I’ve made rolls, clam chowder, a few chicken dishes and about 6 loaves of pumpkin chocolate chip loaf. Yum! I LOVE these cookbooks! 🙂

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

Leave a Reply

