2 More Months. Yikes!

Standard

I know this is technically a day late, but here it is anyways. I literally have only 2 months before baby’s due date. So insane, right? When I was pregnant with Owen, I felt like my gestation time was that of an elephant. I felt I was pregnant WAY longer than 38 weeks with him. And with this one, I feel like I should only be 3 months along. Yet, here I am. Getting bigger by the day. 🙂

Owen and I stopped by Goodwill yesterday to see if we could score some more cloth diapers. We did not have any luck, but I was able to pick up some newborn beanies and a couple of blankets. Owen also picked out a book, Arthur’s Underwear, which we have read no less than a gazillion times since we brought it home. Owen also got a paper cut from one of the books. No need to worry. Because pregnancy turns me into OCD with germs, it was washed, rinsed and sanitized.

I figure at some point, I’ll have to go and buy a few more nursing bras/tank tops. Apparently, nursing bras do not last 5 years, just fyi. I picked up a 3-pack of hooded towels and wash cloths this past weekend with a gift card I had, and hubby surprised me with a new nursing pillow. I have a Boppy already, but I had been drooling over the My Brest Friend pillow for a while now. I’m really excited to have both. Owen has already tested the pillow out for me, by wearing it around the house and holding Mala Sandy (cabbage patch kid) on it. It won’t fit around my pumpkin belly, so Owen was generous enough to give it a trial run.

In potty training news, we are making progress. To fill you in, Owen is TERRIFIED of the potty. I mean, crying, shaking scared of the thing. We let him pick out a potty seat that goes on top of our toilet (if you are curious, he chose Disney Princesses) and we made a sticker chart. Every time he sits on the potty, we count to a number (1-30) and put a sticker on the number we stopped on. Make sense? Anyhoodle, we are up to number 23 and he is so proud of all his stickers. (Also if you are curious, he chose Tinkerbell stickers.) When he gets to 30, we are going to Chuck E Cheese. I’m not sure what the next chart will consist of (probably not peeing in the toilet yet, but something more than sitting) so I’m trying to think of ideas. He is also scared of flushing the potty. It’s fine if I do it, but he won’t even touch the handle. Perhaps sitting and flushing? Even though this is definitely not how I thought potty training would go, hubby & I are so proud of him. This is a huge step for him and we really praise him. Baby steps.

Well, it’s 9am and I hear Owen finally waking up. Guess I’ll get our day started. 🙂

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

Leave a Reply

