I Feel Big…and a Gingerbread Recipe

Standard

I almost called this post “I Fell Big” but I didn’t fall. I just can’t type. My sis, however, did fall in the shower a few weeks ago. I told her trying to shave her legs while preggo is a no-no. She didn’t listen. She is fine though. So is her baby.

Everyone knows that both my sisters are pregnant, too, right? Yep, all 3 of us. Preggo. We’re all due within a month of each other. Funny because I’m the oldest, due first in January. Taylor is the middle, due second in February. Kat is the baby, due last in March. We are also all having boys. Bring on the testosterone.

I seriously have a problem with gingerbread. Men, women, snow people, candy canes. The shapes don’t matter. I literally cannot shove it in my mouth fast enough. And some part of me tells my brain that it’s healthy. I mean, cinnamon is good for you. As is molasses….maybe? Anyhoo, can’t get enough. Made a second batch last night and I decorated them today. I also had to “taste test” a few, too. Don’t want to have bad gingerbread. It was basically a selfless act on my part. You’re welcome, family. You are welcome.

Besides eating loads of gingerbread, it’s no wonder I feel big. Granted, I’m pretty much at the end of this pregnancy. And none of my clothes fit. Hubby’s clothes fit me great though. And his pajama pants are some of the comfiest I’ve ever slept in. I may or may not have shed some tears over the fact that I do fit into his pants. Most likely, I did shed the tears.

Here is the recipe for the Gingerbread. I think it comes from like a 1931 issue of Southern Living. Was Southern Living even around in 1931? No. No it wasn’t. It was founded in 1966. So let’s just say this recipe has been around for quite some time. I also won the blue ribbon at the Carter County Fair for entering this recipe when I was about 6 years old. My name was printed in the paper. I got a blue ribbon. I’m kind of a big deal.

Gingerbread Recipe

1/2 c softened butter
1/2 c sugar
1/4 t salt
1 egg
1/2 c molasses
1 T white vinegar
3 c all-purpose flour
1 t baking soda
2 t ground ginger
1/2 t each of cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves
Cream the butter, sugar and salt together. Stir in egg, molasses and vinegar, and mix well. In another bowl, sift together flour, baking soda and spices. Add the dry ingredients to the molasses mixture a little at a time and mix thoroughly. Shape into a ball and chill 3 hours or overnight.
Remove dough from fridge and let soften a bit. Preheat oven to 375. Roll out dough on lightly floured board with floured rolling pin until 1/4″ thick. Use cookie cutters to cut shapes and place on cookie sheet with parchment paper. Bake 7-10 minutes. Cool on wire racks at least 1/2 hour before frosting.
The icing recipe we use is a new one this year. I think it comes from the PW website, but not too sure. I just know it’s delicious. You just mix 1 pound of powdered sugar with 1/4 cup milk (we use almond milk and it turns out delish.)
Enjoy! And don’t say I didn’t warn you about this recipe. It is fantastic.

Dangerous Gingerbread. Eat at your own risk.

I think the apron is slimming.

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

One response »

  1. As a fellow preggers momma, I wanted to inform you that gingerbread is in fact very healthy, and you should consume it in direct proportion to how big you feel. Happy momma, happy baby 🙂 Hope you and your family have a wonderful holiday!

Leave a Reply

