38 Weeks…and no baby yet…

Standard

So, 2 nights ago I was having a few contractions. Nothing major, and I was able to fall asleep around 11. Well, those contractions woke me up around 12:45 and were pretty consistent. I downloaded a contraction timer (for free, holla!) and started timing them. Yep, every 4-6 minutes, lasting at least a minute. So, around 1:30am, I wake up hubby and tell him I’m gonna take a bath. I figure if they are Braxton Hicks contractions, they’ll go away. Take a bath. Still having contractions. Some of them would stop me in my tracks and I couldn’t talk through them, so around 4am we called my midwife. After she arrives (with my other midwife and my doula), she checks me and Colin. He was moving around SO MUCH and his heart rate was in the 180’s. But, when he’d calm down, it would go back to being in the 140’s. My blood pressure was good, and I’m so glad it wasn’t high like it was when I was in labor with Owen. So, Sherry checks me and I am 0 cm dilated. Yep…NOTHING. I keep having contractions, and an hour or so later she checks me again. Still nothing. Seriously?! SERIOUSLY?! The contractions finally slowed down, and everyone went home around 8am. I was able to take a nap and Sean woke me up around noon to eat. I had a few more contractions, and then finally around 6 or so last night, they just went away. Yep. They just quit.

So….no baby yet. He’s a jokester, apparently. Owen says he is Tricky McTrickerson. 🙂

And as a side note, yes, I have had a small pity party for myself over this episode. And yes, I also realize that I’m not even technically due for another 2 weeks. You must also realize I had Owen at 38 weeks, so technically, this is the longest I’ve ever been pregnant….by 2 hours. Have I told you I’m a little crazy?

Pregnancy Highlights!

How Far Along: 38 Weeks!

Size of Baby: 19.6 inches and 6.8 lbs, according to Baby Gaga

Total Weight Gain/Loss: I’m up 26. I apparently lost 2 pounds somehow, and it’s not cause I’m not eating. I’m still eating. A lot.

Maternity Clothes: Everything.

Gender: A BOY! Colin Whitney

Movement: Colin is still really moving around. After all my contractions yesterday, he would kick and squirm around. He also had the hiccups a few times.

Sleep: Besides a couple of nights ago, I’ve been sleeping alright. My hips are giving me trouble, but once I get up and move around, they feel fine. Can’t wait to sleep on my back again!

What I Miss: Reaching my toenails. Thanks to my sweet hubby for painting them for me this morning.

Cravings: Ice.

Symptoms: Just early labor? False labor? I suppose Colin is just stubborn like his daddy….or me. 🙂

Best Moment This Week: Getting our birth supplies all in order. My birth kit should be delivered today, so perhaps that’s what Colin was waiting on? So polite, that child.

38 Weeks

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

2 responses »

  1. I know! I keep reminding myself that I’m not even to my due date yet! hahaha The end of pregnancy has made my crazy. My mom was 2 weeks late with all 3 of us, so technically I could have another month of this. It’s all the contractions that are throwing me off! Maybe an extra gingerbread man would help? 🙂

Leave a Reply

