1 Week Old

Standard

Okay, so technically I should have posted this yesterday, but whatevs. I’m tired.

We took Colin to the pediatrician last Thursday (Day 4 postpartum…omg) for his “new patient” appointment. We found a pediatrician that I think we’ll really like. He was recommended to us by a lot of friends and our midwife. He’s laid back and we like that approach. The medical assistant measured him (19.5 inches….crazy that he shrunk 1.5 inches in 4 days! haha) and he weighed 6 lbs 10 oz. Not bad. The doctor looked him over, deemed him perfect (or something like that) and we were on our way. We take him back this Thursday for another appointment. Not really sure what it’s for? Maybe a weight check or something? I think it’s overkill, but Sean insists we go. I’m 99% wanting to cancel. Ugh.

My midwives came over on Saturday to check on Colin and I. My midwife did the second metabolic screening (aka heel prick aka Mom loses it) on Colin. My other midwife did some reiki on Colin and myself while he got his heel pricked. I surprisingly didn’t cry and felt calm. Gotta love the good stuff. They weighed Colin and he was 7 pounds! Only 1 ounce from his birth weight. He likes to nurse…obviously. 😉 We both checked out fine, and I’ll see them again at the end of the month.

Colin is still in the newborn disposable diapers because the newborn cloth diapers I bought are huge on him and he leaks out the sides and top. Even the newborn clothes are big on him and he likes to sag his pants. haha!

So far, he’s a good sleeper. Like…he usually sleeps about 3-4 hours in a row and I am the crazy mom that wakes him up so I can nurse him. And he’s so different than Owen. With Owen, I could NEVER put him down, even when he fell asleep. He’d wake back up. And right now, Colin is asleep in the cosleeper and I’m sitting on the couch. I mean, so insane that they are complete opposites!

For those of you interested, I’ll be posting my birth story later on this week, when I can finish writing it. Overall, my experience having a home birth was beyond fantastic. I never left my house. I took a shower in my own shower after Colin was born. And Colin never left my side (except for the shower.) He didn’t go to a nursery. He didn’t cry while my midwife was examining him. It was so peaceful.

My sweet Colin, 8 days old

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

Leave a Reply

