First Day of 1st Grade…delayed

Standard

Because sure, I should be on top of things and should have already ordered the curriculum and started. But…I haven’t. Instead, we’ve been having play dates and picnics and digging huge holes in the backyard and filling them with water. And then, after those children who have dug said hole and filled with said water are completely caked in dried mud, a bath is needed. So, I do what any other mother does while cooking dinner and kids are dirty. I put them in the kitchen sink and bathed them. 

Done and done.

Owen started gymnastics a couple of months ago and has already moved up into a boys only class. He’s loving his class and his coach. His coach asked us if we’d be interested in having Owen come twice a week, once in the evenings and once in the mornings. Yeah for homeschooling that can allow for flexible scheduling! 

Owen has rediscovered his walkie talkies and O.M.G. That child talks so much already, but even more with the walkies. Someone help me. He walks around the house with his, describing what he sees, asking what we’ll have for dinner, his feelings about his brother (and any other possible future siblings (what?!)), the weather, his thoughts about why the sky is blue…..and this is only in the past 15 minutes. 

Colin has really picked up the talking thing and I’m so glad. It’s hard to figure out what he wants when all he says is eeeeeee. So far, he can say: uh-oh, mama, dada, baba (for Owen), nose, eye, ear, teeth, hair and baby. Baby is by far is favorite word. Everything is a baby. EVERY. THING. 

Well, since it’s after 10, I guess I’ll get my kids dressed. And do laundry. Holla. 

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

Leave a Reply

