School/ Homeschool/ Unschooling??

Standard

Where to even begin? I guess I’ll start off by saying Owen and Colin spend the majority of their day playing together. Legos, building blocks, make believe, dress up, mommy & daddy, etc. They are learning through their play and I love that. I’ve felt pressure lately that I’m somehow not doing enough “real” schooling with Owen. We don’t have lesson plans or things to check off our list. We aren’t bound by homework or waking up at a certain time. And truth be told. I LOVE that. I love to plan and schedule just as much as the next person, but I really enjoy the freedom of not having to do anything if we don’t feel like it.

We kind of abandoned our homeschool curriculum this year, about 2 months in. We had finished all the required reading, done the suggested experiments, and we felt good. Owen has a math workbook that he loves and will often do 6 or 7 lessons at a time. We go to the Discovery Museum a lot, now that we have a membership. We visit the library and I let him decide what books to check out and what he wants to learn about. This is really unschooling…..

So why oh why did I enroll him in a public, online (aka at home) school for the remainder of 1st grade? Pressure. Panic. Doubt. And now that the boxes of books and curriculum are set to arrive any day now, Owen has shut down. He has repeatedly told me he doesn’t want to spend his days at a computer. He doesn’t want someone to tell him what to learn. And I didn’t listen. I tried to convince him (and myself) that this is what we needed. UGH.

So, we are going to give it a go for 1 month. Knowing that after the month is up, if both of us hate it then I’ll withdraw him and send the books back.

The thought of unschooling the boys feels comforting and calming to me. And Owen. Or, child-led learning because I don’t want to imply there is no learning (or schooling) taking place.

Now, if you’ll excuse me. I have to go prepare for a phone call from Owen’s “teacher” to discuss my plans for this school year. I hope she doesn’t mind honesty and a slightly hippie parent. 🙂  

About Erin

I'm a mom to the sweetest little boys ever, Owen & Colin. Owen was born in April of 2007 after 22 hours of active labor in a hospital. Love him more than life. Knowing I didn't feel another hospital birth was right for me, Colin was born at home surrounded by our 2 midwives and our little family. I've been married to my hubs for 7 years. We met in 1997 in an AOL Chatroom...the rest is history. I'm crazy. I'm funny. I am socially awkward. This is my life.

Leave a Reply

